Reviews

I pride myself in being able to offer an unforgettable party experience.
Here is some of what people have been saying about me.

Click here to submit your own review

 

"Post wedding brunch in the Twin Peaks neighborhood of San Francisco ~ December 2016 for 40 guests

Hi, Charlie, Just a quick thank you for making last Sunday's party great for us. Your suggestions for furniture placement were right on! From my standpoint, everything went so well. (I noticed, and thank you again, that you switched out the cheaper champagne glass for Riedel when pouring one for me.) Nicole gets high marks, too, for getting everything done without even seeming to be there. It made for a very nice experience for all of us. The bride and groom were happy. We were, too."
- Carla F., San Francisco

"Milestone birthday party in the Forest Hill district of San Francisco ~ October 2016 for 45 guests

Charlie's incredible and detailed, friendly and ridiculously competent. Charlie's got a divine seriousness to him and he's quiet and kind. Nothing will ever fall through the cracks with him. Could not recommend him more highly."
- Kristen K., San Francisco

"30th Birthday Party in the 'Cole Valley' district of San Francisco ~ April 2016 for 25-30 guests

We love Charlie! I had my 30th b'day on April 24th, 2016, and he made the night so special. He made great drinks, was so loving, and made everyone feel a part of the celebration. The best part of Charlie is that he comes to the location a week in advance to scope out the spot he'll be serving and makes sure all is good - he is a true professional! Charlie will only add to any party you have. We will be using him again the future for sure. Thanks again Charlie!"
- Sara Jo R., San Francisco

"Holiday Party in the 'Marina' district of San Francisco ~ December 2015 for 50 guests

Coach K was lost but now he is found. And here to tell you that if you are planning on hiring a bartending service for a party in SF (or even thinking about it) look no further than Charlie and his team! If you've read my reviews, you know I'm a bit of a harsh critic. Although, when my expectations are met (and exceeded) I'll scream about it from the rooftops. This is me screaming. My wife and I were hosting our annual Christmas party and this year 50 people came. We hadn't hired a bartender in the past but always wanted to. After reaching out to Charlie, he promptly returned my email. We had an over-the-phone consultation regarding the scope of the party, and then he actually came to my house to get a feel for the layout / best equipment for the job. This ended up being very helpful. Charlie recommended bringing a helper - Cheryl - and we sure are glad he did. She was excellent. She helped greet people at the door, took coats, passed hors d'oeuvres around the party, continuously cleaned up, and generally supported Charlie. Charlie was busy making excellent craft cocktails - three of which were from his "signature list". He gave me a detailed list of alcohol, fruit, bitters, etc. to buy and was right on the money with his estimates. Charlie and Cheryl arrived at 6pm and left at 1am. The bill was worth every penny, and I can't even imagine having this party again without their services. It was an excellent experience!"
- Coach (Kyle) K., San Francisco

"Milestone Birthday Party in 'Forest Hills', San Francisco ~ November 2015 for 50 guests

Charlie and co. took the show at my private residence event this past Saturday. Guests are still raving about his meticulous approach to his drinks, professionalism and incredible natural talent. Having Charlie and his team of sophisticated yet warm waitresses/servers truly added a wonderful dimension to the event. The entire experience, from pre-planning, the event itself, to post event wrap...phenomenal client centricity and utmost perfection. I am looking forward to working with Charlie again very soon! A toast to SF Bartender 415!"
- Erika P., San Francisco

"40th Birthday Party in 'Noe Valley', San Francisco ~ Sept 2015 for 50 guests

Charlie and co were impeccable in every way for our house party. He knew just what to order, his set-up was perfect, he was easy to work with, and the drinks were spectacular. The guests were impressed by the quality and attention to detail in the drinks, he really made the party. Clean-up was also a full job and everything was appropriately either taken out or left in the proper place. I look forward to working with him again."
- Josh J., San Francisco

"40th Birthday Party in 'Noe Valley', San Francisco ~ Sept 2015 for 50 guests

Charlie was our bartender for a birthday bash. He was awesome from start to finish. He sent us detailed shopping lists, called and came by before the party to scout out the location and left no detail unattended. On the night he arrived early for setup and made a bar that looked extremely professional. He even dressed the part of a professional barman.The drinks were fantastic and everyone at the party agreed that Charlie was a key component to the success of the night. He left the bar area and kitchen spotless when he went home. He also brought an assistant, Cheryl, who was fantastic. She replenished the food, cleaned up and was incredibly helpful without being intrusive. I would use Charlie and Cheryl again in a heartbeat."
- Gayla R., San Francisco

"Murder Mystery-themed Birthday Party in 'Ingleside Terrace', San Francisco ~ January 2015 for 40 guests

Very happy to have found Charlie! He and his helper Cheryl did a wonderful job and went above and beyond their duties to make my husband's murder mystery party a success."
- Maria B., San Francisco

"Back to School Get-Together and Fundraiser at 'Inner Richmond' in San Francisco ~ Sept 2014 for 50 guests

Hi Charlie, We really enjoyed having Ishan as our bartender - he did a great job for us. He was so nice to work with and we loved having all of the bar work taking care of! I'm spoiled and may never be able to not have a bartender for future parties. ;) Thanks also for all your front end work organizing the shopping and to-do lists! Your suggested drinks were a hit - so delicious! Everyone really enjoyed them and had a great time! We plan to have another back to school cocktail party next year and we will definitely contact you when we're ready to plan it. Take care until then!
Ashley."
- Ashley B., San Francisco, CA

"Big Bash Birthday Party at 'Noe Valley' in San Francisco ~ April 2014 for 100 guests

I had the crazy notion that I would hire a friend's 20-something son, without any experience, to be my bartender for a party with over 100 guests. Thankfully, the kid turned me down & I found Charlie on Craigslist. Charlie made it very easy from start to finish, came over a week before the party to strategize about layout and arrangement for maximum beverage delivery, VERY helpful. On the day of the party, he and his assistant showed up on time, started setting up, and that's the last thought I gave to them...they did it all from there on out. They handled everything with grace and humor. Charlie's shopping list for EVERYTHING was very helpful too, check, check, check and I was done."
- Kenneth M., San Francisco, CA

"Surprise 40th Birthday Party at 'South Beach' in San Francisco ~ March 2014 for 35 guests

Very professional, extremely proactive, over-delivers and took care of everything. I hired Charlie to tend bar at a surprise birthday party. As a super-busy person, I particularly appreciated his professional manner and the way he supported and followed up with me in advance to ensure nothing slipped behind. I am serious when I say that the most used phrase after the party was "everyone needs a Charlie". He really helped make the event a huge success and even cleaned up things not related to the bar and took pictures for us to be helpful. I will absolutely be having Charlie back for my events. Oh and his Pomegranate Martini's were a HUGE hit; he suggested them given the type of event - I was skeptical being a martini purist, but I must say they will be offered again at my next gathering."
- Ann C., San Francisco, CA

"Wedding Reception ~ December 29, 2013 for 75 guests

I had the pleasure of using Charles and Patricia for a wedding reception and they were both absolutely marvelous. Initially I was a little reluctant about having Patricia as a helper since my chef also had helpers but she was invaluable. Not only did Patricia assist Charles but she greeted guests, took coats, helped the chefs and subbed as a server as needed, in a word she was awesome. I love to throw parties and I have had bartenders before but none as great as Charles. I absolutely fell in love with Charles and the wonderful specialty drinks he created for my party. He suggested the specialty drinks and at 1st I thought it might limit the options but he was the expert so I went with it and I am glad we did because they were such a smashing success and was all the guest could talk about. I tried all 3 and they were equally good but I fell in love with the strawberry lemon drop, and to my delight Charles made me a to go pitcher. If I didn't live in Texas I would have another party right away just so I could use there services again, that is how thrilled I was. In addition to the drinks tasting great, the bar area looked fabulous and was so well put together and Charles and Patricia were great with taking it all down and assisting us with our clean up. I am so lucky I chose Charles as my bartender and I promise anyone who uses him will not be disappointed."
- Deborah K., Southlake, TX

"Halloween Party, Nov 2, 2013, 50 people

Charlie was wonderful. Here's a million reasons why:
1. He responded to my call within a few hours of contacting him.
2. He took the time to speak with me on the phone about ideas for our party.
3. He had resources in terms of extra assistance to help at the party.
4. He told me where I could purchase items I needed.
5. He brought decor and cool menus for the bar.
6. He dressed up in theme with our Halloween party.
7. So many of our guests were super impressed with how professional he was.
8. He did a site visit for free.
9. He has all his own gear, including extra tables, punch bowls etc.
10. The drinks he suggested were VERY good and themed for our party. A black vodka punch with dry ice anyone? YES PLEASE.
11. He was spot on with his estimates of how much alcohol we would need for the amount of people/hours the party was lasting.
12. He showed up on time - I know this sounds silly but it's actually huge.
13. He was nice and truly desired to provide a memorable experience for our guests.
14. I would use him a million times over.

Ok, that's not a million, but it's a good start. If you hire him you won't regret it."
- Liz M., San Francisco, CA

"Housewarming Party, 'Dogpatch' in San Francisco ~ June 2013 for 50 guests

Charlie, I want to personally thank you and Patricia for making my housewarming party a huge success. You handled everything from the first planning call to the clean-up at the end of the night extremely professionally and with great expertise and enthusiasm! I was able to completely enjoy my guests and you just "made it happen". This is exactly what I wanted, and you delivered. Nearly every guest I've spoken to since Saturday night has proactively commented on how you and Patricia delivered great service. Thanks again!!""
- Dean T., San Francisco, CA

"A friend's 40th Birthday Party on August 4, 2012 for 80-85 people

Charlie, and his assistant Cheryl, came to our friend's 40th birthday bash held at our house in early August. They were a terrific team, Charlie's drinks were top notch, and Cheryl was on top of things all night for both clean-up and putting out food as well as staying on top of random requests from the party floor.
Our crowd was a group of between 80-85 people starting at 8 PM through 2 AM, a relatively rowdy crowd of heavy drinkers, Charlie handled it all with aplomb. The team arrived early for set-up and they made sure everything was in place, asking the right questions, and arranging themselves so they were out of the way of partygoers.
Charlie was at the bar all night. He always had a smile on his face (even at 1:30 in the morning!) and was willing to mix any drink requested. Cheryl was a great help and ran out a few times to replenish supplies.
Both Charlie and Cheryl are high energy with positive attitudes -- I would absolutely hire him and Cheryl again. Charlie was also great in advance on planning out the party with me to ensure we had all the necessary supplies, answer all of the questions we needed answered, and to help us with the party rental place to order glassware for the event. The day of the event he even answered our desperate phone call to help recommend a place in San Francisco where we could find the esoteric peach liqueur we were searching for. Charlie is a true professional. He is worth every penny!!!"
- Jennifer H., San Francisco, CA

"Housewarming Party, 'Cow Hollow' in San Francisco ~ June 2012 for 100 guests

Charlie (with his assistant, Cheryl) worked at my housewarming which probably had upwards of 120 people in and out throughout the night. They both did a great job of managing the situation. Additionally Charlie was really helpful planning the entire affair. We planned three "speciality" drinks that fit the occasion and he sent me a detailed list of what exactly to purchase. It was detailed enough that I just copied and pasted the grocery list into an exec task and it just appeared at my place. I trusted Charlie enough that I gave him my keys so he could arrive at my apartment to set up (I was inbound from Napa) which allowed me to arrive slightly late to my own housewarming with confidence. Overall great work. I would totally use him again and recommend him to any of my friends."
- Nick S., Palo Alto, CA

"Charlie just bartended a 40th birthday party I hosted and he was amazing! We had a party full of devoted cocktail drinkers, and everyone raved about his drinks. Charlie was professional, friendly, efficient, and he had a great eye for detail (he brought signs highlighting the featured drinks, kept the bar organized and moving, and before the event, sent a detailed and accurate list of all of the needed ingredients). I would not hesitate to recommend him to anyone, for a party large or small (we had 80 people).! "
- Genevieve T., San Mateo, CA

"Charlie just did a cocktail party for our 25th anniversary. He did a terrific job. He suggested specialty cocktails for us (including a fabulous pomegranate martini), and when we mentioned that a particular restaurant in our neighborhood did a cucumber gimlet that we love, he called the restaurant, got their recipe, and made is flawlessly for our party. He also was able to suggest an excellent mocktail for those of our friends who don't drink alcohol,.

We hired Cheryl, who works with him as wait staff, as well. They both did a wonderful job of setting up (I was concerned that he wouldn't be able to configure a bar area in our home, but he very quickly figured out the perfect set-up) and cleaning up, and Cheryl did such a great job with the food service that I was able to completely stop stressing about it and enjoy our party. A job very well done--I am so happy I found them, and would definitely hire them again. "
- Deborah R., Berkeley, CA

"Charlie is a great find! He orchestrated a flawless Derby Party for us with excellent mint juleps, mojitos and "no-jitos" for the non-imbibers. As the representative pregnant lady, I appreciate that Charlie's drinks taste great, even without the alcohol. Charlie set up and broke down the bar smoothly, and lent a helping hand throughout the party. I recommend him most highly, and will definitely use him again!"
- Kate A., Larkspur, CA

"Charlie ROCKS! From planning to the actual event, he was incredibly thorough, professional, friendly and a damn good bartender! Charlie has worked 2 events at my company and we have been absolutely thrilled with his services. He is a joy to work with and makes the meanest margarita. For a party of 10 to 100s of people, Charlie can do it, either solo or with his partners. We will be hiring Charlie and his crew again....guaranteed!"
- Cindy M., San Francisco, CA

"Charlie was perfect!!! From the very beginning where we were just e-mailing about what drinks to serve at my mother's 50th birthday bash, how much booze to get, and suggestions on glassware to the very end of the party. He was very professional, prompt replies to my e-mails and phone calls, and generous with his time. He showed up more than an hour early to prepare the specialty drinks (fresh squeezed lime Margaritas, Mojitos, Mango Margaritas and Pom-tini's) and stayed late to help clean up AFTER I had already paid him. The Pom-tini's were VERY successful by the way. I overheard a guest say that they were addictive and tasty. There were approx. 70 people at the party and he did great! He was incredibly approachable and friendly...we will use Charlie's services again in the near future. I might have to make up a party theme just to have him come bartend for us! Thank you Charlie!"
- Erica S., Contra Costa, CA

"I hired Charlie for a 20-person event at my house after I had seen him in action at a friend's house. He was excellent at helping me budget the amount and alcohol and types of drinks to offer. We offered high-quality top-shelf drinks, a couple classic and one creative; and by limiting the variety and getting the amount right, he saved me a lot of money. He has a wide repertoire of drinks, and can really help match the bar service to the occasion. Add to that his reasonable rates, and his skill and presence as a bartender, and it's definitely money well-spent to create a classy atmosphere where you can spend time with your guests rather than worry about serving drinks. And the cost was much less than I expected. I definitely recommend Charlie."
- Jordy B., Manhattan Beach, CA

"Top notch! 3 parties, 3 successes! Yelp needs more than five stars for Charlie! From the beginning of planning your party to the clean up Charlie is there to assist in his calm and professional way. He helps you draw up a menu of cocktails to be served, gives you a list of ingredients needed, comes early to the party to set up his "bar", mixes great drinks, accommodates guests requests. Charlies goes out of his way to make everyone feel welcome and when he doesn't have a line at the bar he circulates among your guests to refresh their drinks and pick up empties. He is such a great help that we would not dream of having a big party without him now. We are much more calm and confident hosts with Charlie there and we actually have time to enjoy our parties. Charlie has our HIGHEST recommendation!"
- Merikay O., San Rafael, CA

"Charlie is awesome! I found him online years ago and haven't looked for another since. Charlie has now been our bartender for 4 events to date. Everything from an annual BBQ for 100 guests to my daughter's 1st birthday. He has a cool style and is very comfortable with all kinds of folks. He has all of his own bar equipment and let's you know what else and how much of it you'll need for each event (liquor, amount of ice, etc..). I would highly recommend Charlie and will use him again myself when I have my next event."
- Lu C., San Francisco, CA

"Charlie is an absolute delight to work with. I've worked with on 3 parties and been thrilled with his help in planning, preparing, service and clean up! He always contributes fun ideas to themes, is sociable and well liked by all guests and makes my life so much easier.  
Party hosting is a breeze with Charlie's help. I give him my highest recommendation."
- Christy S., San Francisco, CA


"Charlie was the bartender for our twin's first birthday party where we had approximately 40 guests and he was amazing! Not only were his drinks delicious but he set up his station, kept it neat, never let a glass go empty, and helped me keep appetizer plates looking neat. He cleaned up when things were slow at the bar and was polite and funny with the guests. He told me exactly how much booze and ingredients I needed, helped me decide on stemware and helped make our party a huge success!"
- Julie S., Oakland, CA

"Another birthday party in the Mission was the idea. I was expecting beers out of the fridge, some finger foods, and boys that aren't really funny though I'll laugh at their jokes anyways in attempts to show that I think they're cute and he should ask me out; girls that come will be in a relationship so they're clingy and staking out the competition. However, this party was elevated to swanky status when they had an in-house bartender who had his own list of cocktails, would get and open your beer, and was pretty cool. His name is Charlie Englert. 

Charlie is an interesting guy. I got to talking with him and found out that he grew up in Mass. and started party planning there. For reasons that I don't know because I didn't ask, he moved out to SF and continued the party planning. He does a variety of sized parties and themes. His drinks were solid and his demeanor is professional yet approachable. Many people at the party were hooked on his Gimlets. I was back at the bar often for his Cosmos.

I'm not sure how much he costs, as I wasn't paying his tab. Though if I do have a party to throw and have extra cash I would definitely hire him."
- Madhu D., punky power! Kensington, CA

Read more on my Yelp page.